Skip to main content
XAlert:During the current caretaker period, there will be no new policy or announcements published on this website.Read more
Go to search page

Corporate structure

MDBA organisation chart

Basin Plan

Undertakes a variety of regulatory functions, which range from the assessment of water resource plans to management of the system of accounts that keeps track of how much water is taken each year from the Basin's rivers, valleys and groundwater systems.

Management team:

  • Executive Director: Tim Goodes
  • General Manager, Basin Plan Implementation: Megan Winter
  • General Manager, Aboriginal Partnerships, Monitoring and Evaluation: Tony McLeod
  • Senior Director, Basin Plan Review: Grace Mang

River Management

Works with state partners to lead and coordinate the management of the River Murray system under the Murray–Darling Basin Agreement including infrastructure management, River Murray operations and environmental management.

Management team:

  • Executive Director: Andrew Kremor (Acting)
  • General Manager, Assets: Angus Paton
  • General Manager, Sustainable Diversion Limit Adjustment Mechanism and Hydrometrics: Asitha Katupitiya (Acting)
  • Senior Director, River Modernisation: Joe Davis
  • Senior Director, River Operations: Matthew Bethune
  • Senior Director, Environmental Management: Janet Pritchard

Basin Strategy and Knowledge

Drives and facilitates science and decision support information that guides river management and Basin Plan implementation. Basin Strategy and Knowledge also aims to strengthen communications and build stakeholder confidence in water management in the Basin.

Management team:

  • Executive Director: Greg Manning (Acting)
  • General Manager, Communications, Engagement and Strategy: Jacqueline (Jack) Knowles
  • General Manager, Applied Science: Matthew Coleman
  • Senior Director, Hydrological Analysis: Alistair Korn
  • Senior Director, Climate Change: Vacant

Business Services

Runs the business of the MDBA providing strategic and support services including: financial management; procurement and planning; advice on people and culture; legal, parliamentary and secretariat services; governance, risk and audit advice; management of data and remote sensing; enterprise project management; and information and technology.

Management team:

  • Executive Director: Annette Blyton
  • General Manager, Legal and Government Relations/Chief Legal Officer: Kelly Casey
  • General Manager, ePMO and Governance: Brent Williams
  • Chief Information Officer, ICT, Data and Support Services: Rod Barlow
  • Chief Finance Officer, Finance: Harish Madan
  • Senior Director, People and Regionalisation: Cedelle Burroughs
Updated: 21 Jan 2022