Skip to main content
XAlert:We are currently updating our website to reflect Machinery of Government changes to Basin-wide compliance and enforcement.Read more
Go to search page

Basin Community Committee

Basin Community Committee

The Basin Community Committee provides a community perspective on a wide range of water resource, environmental, cultural and socioeconomic matters.

Basin Community Committee (BCC) members are selected based on their expertise or interest in water use, water management, Indigenous and local government matters.

BCC members are key local contacts for the Authority. They report on community concerns and issues around Basin Plan implementation and provide information to Basin communities on our programs. The BCC also engages with other advisory communities established by the Authority.

They advise on:

  • community matters relating to the Basin water resources
  • matters referred to the BCC by the Authority.

To assist in its advisory role the BCC forms irrigation, environmental water and Indigenous water subcommittees. These committees help better inform any advice to the Authority and Ministerial Council. 

Basin Community Committee location map as at March 2021

Basin Community Committee members


Phil Duncan – Chair (Gwydir)

Phil, a Gomeroi man from Moree, has provided high level policy and strategic advice to key Aboriginal representative organisations, State and Federal Governments as well as key external stakeholder groups. Phil has more than 38 years of experience working with Aboriginal people, communities and liaising with Governments.

Border Rivers

Sam Coulton (Border Rivers)

Sam is continuing his family’s tradition of farming around Goondiwindi Queensland and currently manages multiple properties focusing on cotton, dryland crops and beef. Sam was raised in regional New South Wales near the MacIntyre River and is passionate about sustainable irrigation and making sure regional towns are viable.


Amy Fay (Goulburn-Murray)

Amy lives in Echuca and is the manager of strategic projects for Murray Dairy. She runs an agricultural project management company Propagate Projects. Amy was a former chair of the National Farmers' Federation Innovation Committee. She has been selected in the 2018 Australian Rural Leadership Program.


Ed Fessey (Culgoa-Barwon-Darling)

Ed is a floodplain grazier at Brewarrina in northern New South Wales and has been the chair of the Lower Balonne Floodplain Association for more than 10 years. A former representative on the Northern Basin Advisory Committee and the Great Artesian Basin Community Consultative Committee, Ed has always been a strong advocate for his community.

Mid-Murray and Murrumbidgee

Rachel Kelly (Mid-Murray and Murrumbidgee)

While her family’s based in Moama New South Wales in the Mid Murray, Rachel also knows the issues facing rural communities right across the Murrumbidgee region. As the policy manager for Ricegrowers’ Association of Australia and vice-chair of New South Wales Irrigators Council, Rachel is actively engaged in water policy.


Susan Madden – Authority member (Dubbo)

Susan is one of the six members of the Murray–Darling Basin Authority. She has extensive experience in agricultural economics and agricultural and resource management. She is Chair of the Central West Local Land Services and sits on the Local Land Services Board of Chairs.


Neil Martinson (Riverland)

Neil is Mayor of the Renmark Paringa Council in South Australia, is the chair of Regional Development Australia Murraylands and Riverland Incorporated, and is a member of the South Australian River Murray Sustainability program.

Lower Balonne

Samantha O'Toole (Lower Balonne)

Samantha is a small business owner in St George Queensland. She is the Mayor of the Balonne Shire, where she holds the water portfolio.


Sandra Peckham (Bogan)

Sandra is a descendant of the Wiradjuri people of Dandaloo-Bogan River-Warramunga people. She has worked with Aboriginal organisations and programs to improve health, housing, education and economic opportunities for Aboriginal people.


Sue Rudd (Sunraysia)

Sue is a small business owner from Merbein in Victoria. She is a graduate of the Northern Mallee Leadership Program and was a founding member of the Women Advancing Rural Communities Group.

Upper Murray

David Thurley (Upper Murray)

From Lavington New South Wales, David is a councillor with the Albury City Council and is National President of the Murray-Darling Association.


Adrian Weston (Goulburn-Broken)

Adrian is a mixed cropping irrigator and dryland grazier from Rushworth Victoria. He is a councillor with the shire of Campaspe, and he is deputy chair of the Goulburn-Broken Catchment Management Authority.



Updated: 11 Mar 2021