Skip to main content
Go to search page

Fact sheet: All about the barrages

Between Lake Alexandrina, the Coorong and Goolwa Channel are barrages separating the River Murray from the sea. These are designed and operated to ensure the lakes and lower reaches of the river remain fresh, not only for environmental reasons but as a water supply source.

There are five barrages that separate Lake Alexandrina from the Goolwa Channel and the Coorong — Goolwa, Mundoo, Boundary Creek, Ewe Island and Tauwitchere.


Updated: 26 Nov 2015  •   Brochures and factsheets