MDBC Annual Report 2006–07 Home | Contents | User guide | Download PDF

About this report

The Murray-Darling Basin Commission (MDBC) is a unique organisation, established by the Australian, New South Wales, Victorian, South Australian, Queensland and Australian Capital Territory governments.

This report describes the activities that the MDBC has carried out on behalf of the Murray-Darling Basin Ministerial Council (Ministerial Council) in the 2006–07 financial year. It is tabled before the parliaments of each jurisdiction through the Ministerial Council. This tabling process has been developed to meet the requirements of the 1992 Murray-Darling Basin Agreement (the Agreement), which has been incorporated into legislation and passed by the Australian Parliament, state and territory parliaments that have jurisdiction in the Murray-Darling Basin (the Basin).

Information on the 2006–07 activities of the partners to the agreement is available through the partner governments’ departmental annual reports.

The MDBC undertakes activities at the direction of its Ministerial Council, and coordinates the efforts of the government partners to the Murray-Darling Basin Agreement. It supports actions by communities and governments within the Basin.

In accordance with the MDBC Strategic Plan 2005–06 to 2009–10, activities are reported here according to the three major objectives under the plan (Parts 1, 2 and 3) and the strategies associated with them. Each objective has key performance indicators as targets for achievement of the plan; these are summarised in Appendix G.

This annual report also incorporates the annual report of the Ministerial Council’s Community Advisory Committee, the primary community body advising the Ministerial Council on natural resource management issues in the Basin.

A separate extract and summary of the key achievements for this year, 2006–07: The Year in Review is also available from the MDBC Office.